top of page

Previous IACMAG Award Winners



Outstanding Contributions Medal

Giovanni Barla (Italy)

Ian Moore (Canada)

Hai-Sui Yu (UK)


Chandrakant S. Desai Medal

Buddhima Indraratna (Australia)

Nasser Khallili (Australia)

Qiang Yang (China)


John Booker Medal

Rafi Tarefder (USA)

K.K. Phoon (Singapore)

Dai-Chao Sheng (Australia)


Special Achievements in Geomechanics

Gyan Pande (UK)


Excellent Contributions (Regional)


Olivier Buzzi (Australia)

Deepankar Choudhury (India)

Jinsong Huang (Australia)

B.K. Maheshwari (India)


Excellent Paper: Junior

(* Nominated Awardee)

D. Chakraborty* and J. Kumar

“Bearing Capacity of Strip Foundations in Reinforced Soils”, International Journal of Geomechanics, 14(1), (2014)

J.P. Hambleton* and A. Drescher

“Approximate Model for Blunt Objects Indenting Cohesive-frictional Materials”, Int. J. Numer. Anal. Meth. Geomech. 36 (2012)

G.P. Kouretzis*, S. W. Sloan and J.P. Carter

“Effect of Interface Friction on Tunnel Liner Internal Forces Due to Seismic S- and P-wave Propagation”, Soil DynamicsandEarthquakeEngineering, 46, (2013)

J. Lovisa* and N. Sivakugan

“Tall Oedometer Testing: Method to Account for Wall Friction”, International Journal of Geomechanics, 14, (2014)

J. Ni*, B. Indraratna, X-Y. Geng, J. P. Carter and Y.-L. Chen

“Model of Soft Soils under Cyclic Loading”, International Journal of Geomechanics, 14, (2014)

H. Sabetamal*, M. Nazem, J.P. Carter and S.W. Sloan

“Large Deformation Dynamic Analysis of Saturated Porous Media with Applications to Penetration Problems”, Computers and Geotechnics, 55, (2014)

Klaus Thoeni*, C. Lambert, A. Giacomini and S.W. Sloan

“Discrete Modelling of Hexagonal Wire Meshes with a Stochastically Distorted Contact Model”, Computers and Geotechnics, 49, (2013)


Recognition and Appreciation for Organization of 14 IACMAG

F. Oka and A. Murakami (Japan)






bottom of page